Table Mountain and Gold Ray Dam, Rogue River - 1914

$25.00

Table Mountain and Gold Ray Dam, Rouge River - Howard C. Tibbitts

(Click to enlarge detail views. Only the full view is available for sale.)

In addition to the size options listed below, we also offer Canvas Wraps and Image Licensing.

* Required Fields

Details

Gold Ray Dam was built in 1904 by brothers Colonel Frank Ray and Dr. C. R. Ray to provide power to a gold mine they had purchased near the town of Gold Hill. Using a unique system of rope-driven turbines, the site created the first hydroelectric power in southern Oregon.

The original timber dam was upgraded to concrete in 1941, In 2010, the dam was removed, and now the Rogue River flows freely from the Lost Creek Project to the Pacific Ocean for the first time in 106 years – a distance of 157 miles.

-- This photo is restored and printed by Old Oregon.

Additional Information

Item Number AA1176
Photographer Howard C. Tibbitts
Location Jackson County
Subject Mountains, Rivers and Streams, Water and Power Projects
Decade 1910s
Print Maker Old Oregon
Original Type Glass Negative
Size of Original 6.0 x 8.0 inches
Photographer's Number Number 26118